Call nowEvents

Oct 28, 2020 – 19th Annual CARRE Policy Conference

We Are Pleased to Announce the Keynote Speaker and Agenda for the 19th Annual CARRE Policy Conference
The CARRE conference has convened leading scholars, practitioners and people directly impacted by the justice system, to discuss best reentry policies and practices since 2001. Our theme this year is “Creating Connections, Breaking Barriers, Scaling Impact.” And we’re inviting thought leaders working in the fields of workforce development, housing, public health, and justice system reform to discuss holistic reentry strategies.
Van Jones Keynote Speaker   Our keynote speaker will be Van Jones, co-founder of several nonprofit organizations, including the Dream Corps, a “social justice accelerator” that operates three advocacy initiatives: #cut50, #Yeswecode, and Green for All. He is the author of The Green Collar Economy and Rebuild the Dream, both ranking as New York Times bestselling books. He is also a regular CNN contributor and host of The Van Jones Show.
Click Here to Register
2020 Conference Agenda Wednesday, October 28, 2019    

9:30 AM Welcome Remarks  
Victor Dickson, President & CEO, Safer Foundation   

9:35 AM Keynote Address Followed by Acceptance of the CARRE Visionary Award
Keynote Introduction: Victor Dickson, President & CEO, Safer Foundation  Van Jones, CEO, REFORM Alliance, CNN Political Contributor and host of the Van Jones Show and The Redemption Project    

9:45 AM to 10:45 AM Panel #1 Creating Connections: Sustaining an Integrative Reentry Service Delivery Model  
Moderator: Barb Otto, Executive Director, Smart Policy Works   Speakers:  Sherie Arriazola, Associate Vice President of Behavioral Health, Safer Foundation Jacqueline Hernandez CADC, Intake Counselor II, Healthcare Alternative Systems, Inc. (HAS)Jacqueline Helm, Safer Foundation Client, Safer Foundation Delon Horne, PEER Participant, Safer Foundation  

10:45 AM CARRE Visionary Award to Delrice Adams  

12:00 PM CARRE Visionary Award to Representative Justin Slaughter  

12:05 PM to 1:05 PM Panel #2 Scaling Impact: Policy Recommendations for Systemic Transformation 
Moderator: Ahmadou Drame, Policy Manager, Metropolitan Planning Council Speakers:  Brandon Johnson, Commissioner (1st District), Cook County Board of Commissioners Alderman Walter Burnett (27th Ward), City of Chicago Yaacov Delaney, Policy Coordinator, Justice, Equity and Opportunity Initiative (JEO)Deanne Benos, Co-Founder, Women’s Justice InstituteJennifer Parrack, Reentry Administrator, Illinois Department of Corrections  

1:35 PM CARRE Visionary Award to Anna Laubach  

1:40 PM to 2:40 PM Panel #3 Breaking Barriers: Building a Statewide Alliance for Re-entry Leaders 
Moderator: Brittany White, Live Free Decarceration Organizer, Faith in Action Speakers:  Wilette Benford, Decarceration Organizer, Live Free Chicago Celia Colón, Founder, Giving Other DreamsToy Beasley, Recovery Support Specialist, TASC Marlon Chamberlain, Re-entry Alliance Project Manager, Safer Foundation  Justin Slaughter, State Representative (27th District), Illinois General Assembly   2:40 PM CARRE Visionary Award to Sharone Mitchell   2:45 PM Safer Policy Institute Update Kevin Brown, Director of Policy, Advocacy and Legislative Affairs, Safer Foundation  

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.